top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureKevin A. Harris

Promoting Interfaith Dialogue: A Protestant Perspective

Updated: Aug 15, 2021

Reverend Josh Blakesley, MDiv, Minister, United Church of Christ, Hatboro, PA, josh@rctransform.com, 1400 Spring Garden St., Apt. 910, Philadelphia, PA 19130


I grew up in the Midwest before completing a Masters of Divinity [M.Div.] at Princeton Theological Seminary [NJ]. I identify as a Progressive Christian and I am an ordained minister in the United Church of Christ (UCC). I have worked in interfaith programs in a variety of settings, including Philadelphia, Hawai’i, Mexico, Michigan, and Toronto. I’m committed to promoting religious pluralism and partnering with people of all faiths and those who identify as atheist or agnostic to build bridges of shared values and cooperation. I am a fellow and consultant with Interfaith Philadelphia. This past November I was asked to lead a workshop “How to Be an Interfaith Ally” at the Parliament of the World’s Religions. My focus areas include: University alternative break programs that incorporate religious immersion and service-learning; workplace diversity programs that promote understanding in organizations, corporations, schools, and hospital settings. The question I pose is: what can we do in our academic institutions and in the public square to promote not only tolerance and knowledge, but the building of bridges across lines of difference and cooperative activities that set the foundation for a more peaceful world? In light of intensive work over a number of years with people of all ages, my conclusion is that the work called “interfaith” or “interreligious” must not be limited to dialogue or to academic programs that focus on classroom-based knowledge or literature; rather, as a facilitator, director, and program manager for interfaith immersion experiences in the corporate, academic, and public context, I am convinced that organized, experiential, and immersive learning is the key to breaking down the existing barriers and to making the largest social impact.





0 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page